Arts & Humanities

Home  /  2012 Sidney Myer Fund Australian Ceramic Award

2012 Sidney Myer Fund Australian Ceramic Award

Shepparton Art Museum (SAM) is delighted to announce the winners of the 2012 Sidney Myer Fund Australian Ceramic Award. With a combined prize pool of $55,000, the biennial award is one of the premier International ceramic art prizes.

The recipients of the 2012 Sidney Myer Fund Australian Ceramic Award Commissions are


The calibre of submission overall, the technical expression and the considered statements provided by artists was commendable. The new format of the award presents a different challenge, requiring artists to conceive and present a whole exhibition rather than just one work. The Shepparton Art Museum appreciates the considerable effort undertaken by artists through the process of application.

Each of the winning artists will be commissioned to produce an exhibition of new work for display at SAM from 20 September to 18 November 2012. The artists will also travel to Shepparton to give presentations and run master-classes for local and visiting artists.

Judging Panel

The Award was judged by a panel comprised of Ranti Tjan, Director of the European Ceramic Work Centre in The Netherlands; Jason Smith, Director of the Heide Museum of Modern Art in Melbourne; and Ryan Johnston, Acting Director of Shepparton Art Museum.

Shortlisted Artists

The three recipients of the 2012 Sidney Myer Fund Australian Ceramic Award exhibition were selected from the following shortlisted artists:
Emerging Australian: Arun Sharma, Antonia Throsby, Robyn Hoskins, Alexandra Standen, Ingrid Tuffs

Australian: Kirsten Coelho, Katherine Huang, Penny Byrne, Angela Valamanesh, Irianna Kanellopoulou, Kris Coad

International: Cheryl Ann Thomas (USA), Michal Fargo (Israel), Suzanne Wolfe (USA), Oliwia Beszcyska (Poland), Wee Hong Ling (USA)

History of the Award

The Sidney Myer Fund International Ceramic Art Award in association with La Trobe University was established by Shepparton Art Museum in 1997 to provide an unprecedented opportunity for a major international ceramic award and exhibition in Australia. This bi-annual award developed from the Sidney Myer Fund Australia Day Ceramic Award, a national prize established in 1991. In 2009 the award developed again to offer better career development opportunities for Australian Ceramicists, more strategic collecting for the Art Museum and allow greater depth to the exhibition and associated publishing. This award has offered Australian audiences the opportunity to view contemporary ceramic art from around the globe for over ten years. The supporting seminar and master-class workshops provide a unique platform for cross-cultural learning and exchange.

Return to top